Where Can I Find Ten Minutes to Work on My Blog?

I’m acutely aware that it has been many months since I posted anything on my blog. Since October of last year my work circumstances have changed very much to my advantage in that I’m now working full-time for one particular client and I’m in the happy position of being able to turn down work from other potential clients because I’m so busy with the work I’ve already got.

However, the downside of not needing to promote my services in the marketplace has been the neglect of my ‘business’ blog. But now that I’ve got ‘my feet under the table’ and things have settled down in my new working environment I think it is time that I addressed the need to reactivate my blog.

The first thing I need to do is to find at least ten minutes a day to write posts for my blog (or blogs, if I include The Tiverton Bahá’í). So I’ve been looking for areas where I could save some time by reorganizing my daily routines. What follows is a provisional list of what I’ve come up with.

  • Don’t buy/read a daily newspaper – spend the time instead thinking about or researching what to write in my blog.
  • Stop visiting certain websites that are, to put it politely, a waste of time and effort.
  • Be more selective about what I watch on TV.
  • Set a specific time each day to dedicate to my blogs (e.g. 8 p.m. to 9 p.m. and/or 8 a.m. to 9 a.m.)
  • Get up earlier each morning and go to bed earlier at night.
  • Spend less time reading my e-mails. Unsubscribe to newsletters that I don’t read.
  • Read more books on subjects that interest me and comment on what I’ve read.
  • Have a specific project to focus on (especially in relation to The Tiverton Bahá’í).

The writing of this post has proved that I can find the time if I put my mind to it, The challenge now is to keep it up!

Leave a comment